Music Victoria Unveils 2014 Genre Awards Nominees

The Age Music Victoria Genre Awards will return for its annual instalment this year and today organisers have announced the 2014 finalists, who represent the year’s best Victorian music across many diverse categories.

This year’s nominees cover all genres from jazz to electronic to best experimental avant-garde and hip hop. Leading the charge in the later category are hip hop artists Briggs, Geko, L-Fresh the Lion, Remi and Tornts.

Candidates in the running for Best Soul/Funk/R&B/Gospel Album include Melbourne’s own singer-songwriter Oscar Key Sung, soul sensations Saskwatch and soul/funk outfit The Bamboos. Best Country Album nominees include Tracy McNeil, who also nominated for Best Folk/Roots album, for Nobody Ever Leaves, and Wagons with their record Acid Rain & Sugar Cane.

Battling it out for Best Electronic Act will be award favourite Chet Faker, Melbourne duo Client Liaison and rising DJ and producer Will Sparks, while Closure in Moscow and The Bennies will duke it out for Best Heavy Album.

The winners will be announced at the sold-out award ceremony in Melbourne on Wednesday 19th November, which will also feature a special guest performance from beloved Australian band Daddy Cool. Henry Wagons will MC the event.

The ceremony will be held during Melbourne Music Week. See all the nominees below.

Watch: Wagons – Beer Barrel Bar

The Age Music Victoria Genre Awards Nominees

Best Blues Album – presented by Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society

Dreamboogie – Ain’t Nobody’s Business

Greg Dodd & The Hoodoo Men – 3am Blues Live

Ian Collard – Swamp, Stomp & Boogie

Kerri Simpson – 4am

Shaun Kirk – Steer The Wheel

Best Country Album – presented by Out On The Weekend

Eaten By Dogs – Eaten By Dogs

Lachlan Bryan & The Wildes – Black Coffee

T-Bones – A Long Time Coming

Tracy McNeil – Nobody Ever Leaves

Wagons – Acid Rain & Sugar Cane

Best Soul, Funk, R’n’B and Gospel Album – presented by Plakkit

Chelsea Wilson – I Hope You’ll Be Very Unhappy Without Me

Cookin’ on 3 Burners – Blind Bet

Oscar Key Sung – Holograms

Saskwatch – Nose Dive

The Bamboos – Fever In The Road

Best Jazz Album – presented by Dixons Creek Estate

Andrea Keller Quartet with Strings – Wave Rider

Anton Delecca Quartet – The Healer

Black Jesus Experience – Migration

Julien Wilson Trio – Swailing

Tilman Robinson – Network of Lines

Best Hip Hop Album – presented by PBS

Briggs – Shep Life

Geko – Real Heads Don’t Listen

L-Fresh the Lion – One

Remi – Raw x Infinity

Tornts – Street Visions

Best Electronic Act – presented by Select AV

Andras Fox

Chet Faker

Client Liaison


Will Sparks

Best Heavy Album – presented by Sailor Jerry

Ausmuteants – Amusements

Ceres – I Don’t Want To Be Anywhere But Here

Closure In Moscow – Pink Lemonade

Iron Mind – Iron Mind

The Bennies – Rainbows In Space

Best Indigenous Act – presented by Songlines

Deline Briscoe

Kutcha Edwards


Skin Choir

The Deans

Best Global or Reggae Album – presented by Crumpler

Black Jesus Experience – Migration

Coloured Stone – Dance To the Sun

Tek Tek Ensemble – Terror in the Jungle

The Bombay Royale – The Island of Dr Electrico

The Chosen Ones – Self Titled

Best Folk Roots Album – presented by White Sky

Charles Jenkins – Too Much Water In The Boat

Laura Jean – Laura Jean

Oh Pep! – II

Tobias Hengeveld – The Daylight Express

Tracy McNeil – Nobody Ever Leaves

Best Experimental/Avant-Garde Act – presented by Implant Media

Evelyn Morris

Joel Stern

Nik Kennedy

Ren Walters

Rosalind Hall

Must Read