Photo: Olivia Bee

Smashing Pumpkins To Release Two New EPs

Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan has announced that the band will release two new EPs with the freshly reunited, almost original lineup.

Corgan took to Instagram to update fans on the progress of previously confirmed new music saying that it’s nearly ready to go.

“The musical side is done with 2 days to go, leaving background vocals and last minute touches/flourishes/drang,” he said.

He confirmed that there are eight new songs to be released across two EPs and said the track names are, “Solara, Marchin’ On, Travels, Seek and You Shall Destroy, With Sympathy, Knights of Malta, Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts), and Alienation.”

The first EP is due to be released in May and it’s expected that they have worked on it with legendary producer Rick Rubin.

Original members James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlin are both involved as is Jeff Schroeder. Bassist D’Arcy Wretzky isn’t involved in the new music after she allegedly had an invitation to rejoin the band revoked. She’s since been very vocal about her dislike of Corgan.

This will be the first Smashing Pumpkins album since 2014’s Monuments to an Elegy although the last record Iha and Chamberlin were involved in was 2000’s Machina/The Machines of God.

The band is due to embark on a reunion tour in July. Corgan previously shared the songs he’s thinking about adding to the setlist but now new songs have been confirmed that may change.

Must Read