Custom styles

Image for Sydney Festival Plots A Bunch Of Free Shows For 2017

Sydney Festival Plots A Bunch Of Free Shows For 2017

Written by Jade Kennedy on December 8, 2016

Sydney Festival is fast approaching and they’ve boosted our anticipation by announcing a series of free nightly concerts at The Meriton Festival Village on top of the stellar lineup.

PJ Harvey, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Regurgitator, Wafia and The Bats are all playing shows for the festival but The Meriton Festival Village, located in Hyde Park, will play host to a diverse range of acts, costing you zilch, zero, nada. There will also be a house of mirrors, comedy and cabaret performances, a non-stop variety show and a roller rink every Saturday.

The Village Stage will present a variety of Australian talent with world influences, including earthy soulful jazz, Bollywood funk, a garage rock quartet, a men’s choir, blues, low-fi garage pop, Latin American rhythms, and a band described as, “Daft Punk meets Deep Forest with the fearlessness of Nina Simone.”

There will also be a marathon tribute to David Bowie, Let’s Dance on Tuesday, featuring song, dance and public participation, with special guests to be announced.

The Meriton Festival Village will be open every day except Monday throughout the festival, from 4.30pm Tuesday – Friday and 12pm weekends, at the northern end of Hyde Park.

The full lineup and performance times can be found below.

Watch: Los Tones – ‘The Door’

The Village Stage Sydney Festival performances

Friday, 6th January
6.30pm
Spectres of Love

Saturday, 7th January
12.30pm
Electric Fields
6.30pm
Spectres of Love

Sunday, 8th January
6.30pm

Cumbiamuffin

Tuesday, 10th January
5.15pm
Let’s Dance – A Night for Bowie Fans

Wednesday, 11th January
6.30pm
PIRRA

Thursday, 12th January
TBC

Friday, 13th January
6.15pm
Mighty Duke & The Lords

Saturday, 14th January
12.30pm & 6.30pm
Mighty Duke & The Lords

Sunday, 15th January
6.30pm
Mighty Duke & The Lords

Tuesday, 17th January
6.30pm & 8.30pm
Orszaczky Budget Orchestra

Wednesday, 18th January
6.30pm
Body Type

Thursday, 19th January
6.30pm
Alice Terry

Friday, 20th January
6.30pm
Broadway Sounds

Saturday, 21st January
12.30pm
The Spooky Men’s Chorale
6.30pm
Broadway Sounds

Sunday, 22nd January
6.45pm
Eastern Empire

Tuesday, 24th January
6.30pm & 8.30pm
Orszaczky Budget Orchestra

Wednesday, 25th January
6.45pm
Alice Terry

Thursday, 26th January
6.45pm 
Eastern Empire

Friday, 27th January
6.45pm
Los Tones

Saturday, 28th January
12.30pm 
Old School Funk Band
6.45pm
Los Tones

Sunday, 29th January
6.30pm
Cumbiamuffin

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script

Nielsen