The Double Agents
The Double Agents | Image via Supplied

The Double Agents Announce New Album ‘New Motion’

Australian rock band The Double Agents is making a comeback with their third studio album, New Motion, set to release on June 21 via Yeah/Nah Records. This highly anticipated album marks their first collection of new songs in nearly twenty years.

The Double Agents’ is accompanied by their lead single, “If Ya Don’t Mind,” now available on various streaming platforms. The song, reminiscent of Celibate Rifles’ spirit, features the signature dual vocals of Dave and Kim, complemented by Ryan Tandy’s electrifying lead guitar.

The Double Agents – ‘If Ya Don’t Mind’

The double Agents’ guitarist Dave Butterworth expressed the song’s significance, revealing it as his first creation in over a decade, inspired by his battle with cancer and the influence of artists like Dr. Feelgood and Wilko Johnson.”This was the first ‘new’ song I’d written in over 10 years of barely picking up my guitar. It came to me while standing in a rehearsal room in February of last year. I had a renewed passion for music since my heavy cancer diagnosis just before this night. I’d been listening to non-stop Dr. Feelgood, and I felt the spirit of Wilko Johnson kind of flowing through me… It seems ‘wanky,’ but that’s how it felt to me. The fact that it turned out to be more of a twisted Oz punk thumper surprised me. This song was the impetus to make more!” 

The Double Agents rose from local stages to international acclaim in the early 2000s, they shared platforms with renowned acts like Dead Moon, Mudhoney, and The Black Keys before taking a hiatus in 2008.

Tracks like “Come Along” and “Picture in my Hand” showcase Kim’s diverse vocals, while the title track “New Motion” and “Side Effect” exhibit a fusion of Wire’s tone and Iggy Pop’s attitude.

Recorded analog by Finn Keane and Julian McKenzie, with post-production by Dave Larkin and mixing by Callum Barter, “New Motion” promises a dynamic listening experience. With their career compilation in 2023 and support gigs in 2024, The Double Agents’ return is eagerly awaited by fans and music enthusiasts alike.


1. New Motion

2. Side Effect

3. If Ya Don’t Mind

4. My Real Life Monkey Brain

5. Come Along

6. Kiss Me Once

7. Golden Rule

8. Picture In My Hand

9. Dollar Signs

10. Claw Hand

Pre-order the album here.

Further Reading

The Lemon Twigs Release New Single ‘How Can I Love Her More?’ From Upcoming Album

Montell Fish Announces 2024 Australian Tour

Hiatus Kaiyote Announce New Album ‘Love Heart Cheat Code’, Share Single + Tour Dates

Must Read