Image Via Facebook / The Libertines

The Libertines Have Unveiled Their Comeback Album, ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’

The Libertines are back with their first studio album in over a decade. Upliftingly dubbed Anthems For Doomed Youth, the comeback LP will be released this September.

The Brit-rock group led by singer Carl Barat and guitarist Pete Doherty recently reformed, following a near 11-year hiatus, to record the anticipated follow-up to their self-titled 2004 LP, The Libertines, at Karma Studios in Thailand.

Despite joking a few weeks back that they’d “gone progressive” on the new disc by shaking up their signature sound with synths and pianos, Aussie triple-threat producer, engineer and session muso, Stevie Knight, has assured fans that the record is a deadset killer.

And he should know. Knight, who also fronts Sydney rock outfit The Dead Love, was on hand for plenty of the action from The Libertines’ Thai recording sessions, and he told Music Feeds that the album is “very much rock n’ roll and it’s fucking awesome!” (Check out some of the behind-the-scenes studio snaps we dug up on his Facebook page, below).

The 12-track Anthems For Doomed Youth features the freshly-unveiled song Gunga Din – which the band most recently performed live at this year’s Glastonbury festival (video below) – with four bonus tracks packed into the deluxe edition.

“Dearest one and all,” The Libertines posted on their official Facebook page. “The day has finally arrived, to announce the unveiling of the new Libertines record – Anthems For Doomed Youth. We do so with the utmost pride and jubilation.

“She (the record) will be available on the 4th of September. We would encourage you to pre-order downloads, live on iTunes… in the spirit of our times.

“There will of course be special limited edition box sets and vinyls available for the more discerning… with many an extra Arcadian flourish. Don’t miss ’em!”

Watch: The Libertines – Gunga Din Live @ Glastonbury 2015

Anthems for Doomed Youth Cover Art:

Anthems for Doomed Youth Official Tracklisting:

1. Barbarians

2. Gunga Din

3. Fame and Fortune

4. Anthem for Doomed Youth

5. Heart of the Matter

6. Belly of the Beast

7. Iceman

8. You’re My Waterloo

9. Fury of Chonburi

10. The Milkman’s Horse

11. Glasgow Coma Scale Blues

12. Dead for Love

13. Love on the Dole [Bonus]

14. Bucket Shop [Bonus]

15. Lust of the Libertines [Bonus]

16. 7 Deadly Sins [Bonus]

Rocknroll History is being created! #thelibertines

Posted by Stevie Knight on Monday, May 18, 2015

A few cool things in the works..

Posted by Stevie Knight on Wednesday, May 20, 2015

#libertine artwork.

Posted by Stevie Knight on Thursday, May 21, 2015

Peter and I on my last night of shenanigans.

Posted by Stevie Knight on Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Must Read