The Preatures Announce Debut Album ‘Blue Planet Eyes’, Stream New Single ‘Somebody’s Talking’

The Preatures have shared details of their long-awaited debut album, Blue Planet Eyes, alongside a stream of their brand-new single Somebody’s Talking. Blue Planet Eyes will receive an Australian release on Friday, 26th September, with a US and UK release to follow soon after.

Somebody’s Talking is a welcome return to the bouncy, soulful guitar pop we’ve come to love from the Sydney outfit. The Preatures single staples are still there, palm muted guitars and all, but now an AM sheen adds shades of Katrina & The Waves to the mix. It’s destined to be another summer radio hit.

The album comes at the tail-end of 12 months of hard touring and recording, and previous single unveiled the single Two Tone Melody, which frontwoman Izzi Manfredi described as “a good introduction to the record”. It was recorded entirely to tape by co-producer Jim Eno, of Spoon, during the band’s stay in the US.

“When you make a record, it feels like you’ve got a lot more space to explore the things that you are as a songwriter or a band or what those two things mean when they come together like that,” guitarist and co-producer Jack Moffitt told Music Feeds.

“I feel like when we did the EP, we spent the same amount of time that we’ve spent on this record,” he said. “The seven songs that became five, we’ve had the same amount of time to work 11 tracks that’ve turned into 10. That kind of pressure creates a really different environment for decision-making.”

“That said, all of the songs that [have made it] onto the record are songs that we really love, that we’ve had time to build up connections with,” the guitarist continued. “There’s some old songs on there and there’s some really new songs on there that nobody will have heard.”

“I really wanted to explore pop writing – that’s the over-arching theme,” says Manfredi. “I never thought I would be writing pop music – I don’t think any of us did – but the more I got into it, the more I love it. I just wanted to figure out how I could make people feel the most in the least amount of time.”

The group first turned heads with 2012’s Take A Card, the 10th most played track on Triple J that year. Months of road-work followed, including support dates with Haim, their own headline tours, and most recently, a lauded appearance at Splendour In The Grass in Byron Bay (see images below).

The Preatures were also the first act confirmed for the highly anticipated debut of Beyond The Valley this New Year’s Eve.

Listen: The Preatures – Somebody’s Talking

Gallery: The Preatures – Splendour In The Grass 2014, Byron Bay 25/07/14

Photos by Ashley Mar


Blue Planet Eyes Tracklist

1. Blue Planet Eyes

2. Somebody’s Talking

3. Is This How You Feel?

4. Ordinary

5. Two Tone Melody

6. Rock And Roll Rave

7. Whatever You Want

8. Cruel

9. It Gets Better

10. Business, Yeah

Must Read