Timothy Nelson & The Infidels, Pond Dominate 2014 WA Music Awards

Perth band Timothy Nelson & The Infidels have cleaned up at the 2014 Western Australian Music Awards overnight, claiming five awards out of their total seven nominations across various categories.

Nelson and co. took out the top prize for Best Album, behind recently released LP Terror Terror, Hide It Hide It, as well as Best Pop Act. Band member Luke Dux nabbed the Best Guitarist award, and frontman Nelson was named Best Keys/Synth Artist and Best Male Vocalist.

Other big winners on the night included electronic artist Kučka who made off with three awards out of five nominations. She was recognised on the night for Best Single (Unconditional), Best Electronic Act and Best Experimental Act. Meanwhile, stand-out psychedelic rockers Pond were awarded Most Popular Act and Most Popular Live Act.

The Love Junkies were also up for seven awards and walked away with two of them for Best Rock Act and Best Drummer for band member Lewis Walsh. Abbe May secured the Best Female Vocalist award, Hideous Sun Demon was named Most Popular New Act and for the second consecutive year the public voted St Jerome’s Laneway Festival their favourite Music Event of the Year.

All the WAM festivities will continue today, Saturday 8th November, with the festival’s Saturday Spectacular at Northbridge. The event will feature 54 acts across seven venues, including a massive lineup of 18+ entertainment at Roe Street’s Wilson Car Park. All venues are free, midday to midnight with the lineups featuring award-winners such as KUČKA, The Love Junkies, Puck, David Craft and The Floors.

See all the WAM Awards nominees and winners below.

Watch: Timothy Nelson & The Infidels – All The People

WAM Award Nominees & Winners

Most Popular Act

Presented by City Of Perth

John Butler Trio
San Cisco
The Love Junkies
Timothy Nelson & The Infidels

Most Popular Live Act

Presented by The Rosemount Hotel

Mt. Mountain
The Kill Devil Hills
The Love Junkies
Timothy Nelson & The Infidels
Tired Lion

Most Popular New Act

Presented by Sunset Events

Coin Banks
Dreamy Rimmy
Hideous Sun Demon – WINNER
Methyl Ethyl

Most Popular Music Video

Presented by Shiny Rabbit

Boys Boys Boys! – We Like To Move
John Butler Trio – Only One – WINNER
Moana – The Killer, My Girl
Sable – Foolin’
Scalphunter – There Will Be Change
Usurper Of Modern Medicine – Motorolla Boreallis

Most Popular Event

Presented by YACWA

Camp Doogs
Hidden Treasures
In The Pines
St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival – WINNER
State Of The Art

Most Popular Venue

Presented by Diskbank

Amplifier / Capitol
Mojo’s – WINNER
The Bakery
The Bird
The Odd Fellow
The Rosemount

Industry Awards Nominees

Golden WAMi

Presented by City Of Perth

Andrew Ryan
Bob Gordon
Jodie Regan – WINNER
Luke Rinaldi
Peter Barr

Best Album

Presented by Alberts

John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood
Pond – Hobo Rocket
Timothy Nelson & The Infidels – Terror Terror, Hide It Hide It – WINNER
Usurper Of Modern Medicine – Omniliberation

Best Single

Presented by MRA

John Butler Trio – Only One
KUČKA – Unconditional – WINNER
Sable – Feels So Good
The Love Junkies – Chemical Motivation

2014 Breakthrough Artist

Presented by triple j

Coin Banks
Lower Spectrum
Mt. Mountain – WINNER
Pat Chow

Management Award

Presented by Central Institute Of Technology

Jacob Snell
Jodie Regan – WINNER
Luke Rinaldi
Matt Johnson

Media Award

Presented by Worldwide Printing Solutions

Bob Gordon (X-Press Magazine)
Daniel Cribb (The Music)
Peter Barr (RTRFM) – WINNER
Simon Collins (The West Australian)

Genre Awards Nominees

Best Rock Act

Presented by Central Institute Of Technology

Pat Chow
The Kill Devil Hills
The Love Junkies – WINNER

Best Punk / Hardcore Act

Presented by Moshtix

Chainsaw Hookers
Grim Fandango

Best Metal / Heavy Act

Presented by Earache Records

Chaos Divine
Claim The Throne

Best Urban Act

Presented by The Poster Girls

Amani Consort
Bryte MC
Coin Banks
Mathas – WINNER
Odette Mercy & Her Soul Atomics

Best Electronic Act

Presented by X-Press Magazine

Basic Mind
Lower Spectrum
Mei Saraswati

Best Experimental Act

Presented by X-Press Magazine

Eleventeen Eston
Mei Saraswati

Best World Music Act

Presented by Fairbridge Festival

Formidable Vegetable Sound System
Gina Williams & Guy Ghouse
Grace Barbé
The Weapon Is Sound – WINNER

Best Jazz Artist

Presented by Perth Jazz Society & The Ellington

Ben Vanderwal
Daniel Susnjar
Jamie Oehlers
Tom O’Halloran – WINNER

Best Folk Act

Presented by Media Arts Lawyers

David Craft – WINNER
Helen Shanahan
Jacob Diamond
Morgan Bain

Best Indigenous Act

Presented by Noongar Radio

Bradley Hall
Bryte MC
Gina Williams & Guy Ghouse – WINNER
Stephen Pigram
Fitzroy Express

Best Country Act

Presented by Mustang Bar

Davey Craddock & The Spectacles
Jonny Taylor
Ruby Boots – WINNER
Stoney Joe

Best Blues & Roots Act

Presented by Clancy’s Fish Pub

John Butler Trio
Morgan Bain
Old Blood
Riley Pearce
The Floors – WINNER

Best Pop Act

Presented by The Wire

Boys Boys Boys!
Flower Drums
Samantha Jade
Timothy Nelson & The Infidels – WINNER

Craft Awards Nominees

Presented by RTRFM

Best Sound Engineers (Live)

Adam Round
Chris Wright – WINNER
Jay Brandner
Jeremy Beste

Best Sound Engineers (Studio)

Adam Round – WINNER
Andy Lawson
Dave Parkin
Matt Giovannangelo

Best Electronic Producer

Diger Rokwell – WINNER

Best Keys / Synth Artist

Jack Doepel (MmHmmm, Jack Doepel Quartet)
Jake Steele (KUČKA, Injured Ninja)
James Ireland (Hamjam, The Growl)
Timothy Nelson (The Kill Devil Hills, Timothy Nelson & The Infidels) – WINNER

Best Guitarist

Andrew Ewing (The Devil Rides Out)
Lee Jones (Polly Medlen, Ruby Boots)
Luke Dux (The Floors, Timothy Nelson & The Infidels) – WINNER
Mitch McDonald (The Love Junkies)

Best Bassist

Jennifer Aslett (Gunns)
Marc Earley (The Growl)
Ryan Dux (The Kill Devil Hills, The Floors) – WINNER
Steven Aaron Hughes (Usurper Of Modern Medicine)

Best Female Vocalist

Abbe May – WINNER
Felicity Groom
Laura Jane Lowther (aka KUČKA)
Mei Saraswati

Best Male Vocalist

David Craft
Mitch McDonald (The Love Junkies)
Timothy Nelson (Timothy Nelson & The Infidels) – WINNER

Best Drummer

Jamie Gallacher (Pat Chow, Rag n’ Bone)
Lewis Walsh (The Love Junkies) – WINNER
Liam Young (The Novocaines, Puck)
Nathan Sproule (Chainsaw Hookers, The Devil Rides Out)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more