Watch The Killers Debut New Song ‘Blowback’, Cover A Tom Petty Classic

The Killers have debuted ‘Blowback’, a new song from their upcoming sixth studio album Imploding the Mirage, while appearing on CBS.

In addition to the new track, the Las Vegas rockers also covered Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ Hard Promises favourite ‘The Waiting’ and performed previously-released Imploding the Mirage lead single ‘Caution’.

The session was a stripped-back affair, with frontman Brandon Flowers on vocals and piano duties and drummer Ronnie Vannucci Jr. playing acoustic guitar.

Imploding the Mirage was originally set for release Friday, 29th May, but has since been pushed back, with a new release date to be announced in the coming weeks.

Having promised a return to the heartland rock stylings of classic albums like Sam’s Town and Battle Born, the album was self-produced by the band alongside musical engineer Shawn Everett and Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado. It’s set to feature collaborations with Fleetwood Mac’s Lindsey Buckingham, k.d. lang, Weyes Blood, The War on Drugs’ Adam Granduciel and more.

The band have an Australian arena tour booked for November of this year, when they’re scheduled to perform in Brisbane, Sydney, Perth and Melbourne. However, they’ve since suspended ticket sales for the time being in light of the coronavirus pandemic.

Watch The Killers perform ‘Blowback’, ‘Caution’ and Tom Petty’s ‘The Waiting’ below.



‘The Waiting’ (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers cover)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more