Jeff Tweedy Shares ‘Cold Water’ (Feat. Duke Silver) for Mouse Rat’s Debut Album

A little while ago, it was revealed that Mouse Rat – the fictional band featured in Parks and Recreation, fronted by Chris Pratt’s character Andy Dwyer – were gearing up to release their debut album, The Awesome Album, some six years after the show itself called it a day.

Set to arrive in August, the album will feature a slew of tracks performed or alluded to on the series. A handful of singles have already been released, such as Li’l Sebastian tribute ‘5,000 Candles in the Wind’,  and ‘The Pit’, and now we have another, ‘Cold Water’.

Unlike the previously-released singles, this one doesn’t actually feature Mouse Rat. Instead, ‘Cold Water’ is performed by Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy in his Parks and Rec guise – Scott Tanner of the band Land Ho!. It even features an appearance by Duke Silver – aka Nick Offerman’s character Ron Swanson in his moonlighting gig as a jazz saxophonist.

The Awesome Album is out Friday, 27th August via Dualtone in “partnership” with – who else – Entertainment 720, the media conglomerate of Parks and Recs‘ Tom Haverford.

Listen to ‘Cold Water’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more