Wild Beasts Announce New Album, Drop First Track From It

British alternative band Wild Beasts have announced their fifth album Boy King and dropped the first track from it Get My Bang.

With a surprise drop being the popular method of releasing an album these days, it’s somewhat even more surprising to have a band actually give us a release date and tracklist. Wild Beasts have done it the old fashioned way announcing that Boy King will be with us on 5th August.

Preceding the release they have unveiled Get My Bang complete with a video for the neon-tinged, funky track. The video, directed by Olivier Groulx, sees frontman Hayden Thorpe throw some very slick dance moves.

“It became apparent that that guitar almost became the character within the songs, that phallic character, the all-conquering male,” Thorpe said of the record in a statement.

“I think Boy King is an apocalyptic record. It’s about swimming in the abyss. When you think about sex, you’ve got to think about death, they’re one and the same.”

It’s been two years since the release of their last album Present Tense. They toured that release in Australia the same year, playing Splendour In The Grass.

There’s no more information about what to expect from the project but you can hear the first single below and start guessing as to the direction of the latest record. You can also peep the tracklist and cover below (via Pitchfork).

Watch: Wild Beasts – Get My Bang

Boy King Album Art:

Boy King Tracklist:
1. Big Cat
2. Tough Guy
3. Alpha Female
4. Get My Bang
5. Celestial Creatures
6. 2BU
7. He The Colossus
8. Ponytail
9. Eat Your Heart Out Adonis
10 Dreamliner

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more