BIGSOUND Unveils Second Speaker Lineup For 2017

Brisbane’s BIGSOUND festival has announced its second round of speakers for this year’s conference, including keynote speeches by Speedy Ortiz frontwoman Sadie Dupuis and the co-founder of indie label PIAS, Kenny Gates.

Also joining the BIGSOUND speakers lineup today are the likes of Triple M present (and former Recovery co-host), Jane Gazzo; Pitchfork writer Jillian Mapes; Captured Tracks A&R man, Mike Sniper; ARIA CEO Dan Rosen and the former manager of Wham! and Marc Bola, Simon Napier-Bell.

The list of new speakers, which you can peep in full below, join the likes of Tina Arena, Archie Roach and triple j‘s Music Director Nick Findlay on speaking duties at this year’s event.

BIGSOUND’s 2017 music lineup, on the other hand, already has 64 acts on it, and is expected to climb to over 130. The roster currently features the likes of Winston Surfshirt, Joyride, Alex The Astronaut, Polaris, Mansionair and Ruby Fields.

BIGSOUND is also set to include a new Music Tech Showcase this year, which will give 10 tech innovators the chance to show off their creations. Entries close on 15th July, and you can find more info at the BIGSOUND website.

Gallery: BIGSOUND Live 2016, Day 2 – Brisbane 08.09.16 / Photos: Rebecca Reid

BIGSOUND 2017 Second Speaker Lineup

Kenny Gates – PIAS (BEL) – Keynote

Sadie Dupuis – Speedy Ortiz (USA) – Keynote

Aminé Ramer – States of Sound (USA)

Ben Godding – AWAL/Kobalt Music Recordings (AUS)

Ben O’Connor – Chapter Music (AUS)

Ben Swanson – Secretly Group (USA)

Bill Wilson – Music Biz (USA)

Cameron Schaefer – Vinyl Me, Please (USA)

Carl Young – Vevo (UK)

Charles Kirby-Welch – Kartel (UK)

Chris Twite – Secret Sounds / Brisbane Festival (AUS)

Clémence Bizien – Super! (France)

Dan Rosen – ARIA (AUS)

David Sheils – APRA AMCOS (AUS)

Elspeth Scrine – LISTEN / Huntley (AUS)

Emma Calverley – Australian Cultural Fund (AUS)

Emily Kelly – Deathproof (AUS)

Farinoush Mostaghimi – SynchAudio (CAN)

Haley Connelly – Little Press (UK)

Heath Miller – Webster Hall & Excess dB Entertainment (USA)

Hugh McClure – Good Manners (AUS)

Jackie Nalpant – Paradigm Talent Agency (USA)

Jake Friedman – We Are Free Management (USA)

Jane Gazzo – Triple M (AUS)

Jeff Owens – Felte / Ghostly International (USA)

Jennie Sager – Twitter (AUS)

Jeremy Yohai – Imagem Music Publishing (USA)

Dr. Jess Carniel – University of Southern QLD (AUS)

Jillian Mapes – Pitchfork (USA)

Joe Greenwald – C3 Management (USA)

Joel Connolly – Blackbird Ventures (AUS)

Karl Richter – Level Two Music (AUS)

Kate Mills – Native Tongue Publishing (AUS)

Keith Tan – Slate Entertainment (SIN)

Lars Brandle – Billboard (AUS)

Leigh Treweek – The Music / Handshake MGMT (AUS)

Marshall Betts – Paradigm Talent Agency (USA)

Matt Fiedler – Vinyl Me, Please (USA)

Mel Yong – Village Sounds & Other Sounds (AUS)

Mike Sniper – Captured Tracks (USA)

Nic Warnock – R.I.P. Society Records / Repressed Records (AUS)

Paul Barclay – ABC RN (AUS)

Peymon Maskan – Media Arts Lab (USA)

Shelli Trung – QUT CEA (AUS)

Simon Napier-Bell – Pierbel Ltd. UK (UK)

Steel Hanf – WME (AUS)

Tom Taaffe – United Talent Agency (UK)

Zena White – Partisan Records (UK/USA)

Ziggy Ramo – Artist (AUS)

BIGSOUND 2017 First Speaker Lineup

Archie Roach (AUS) – Keynote

Tina Arena (AUS) – Keynote

Adel Hattem – D Music Marketing (Brazil)

Alison Wenham – Worldwide Independent Network (UK) Andrew Jervis – Bandcamp (USA)

Ash Kerley – Girls Rock! (AUS)

Bill Roe – Trouble In Mind Records (USA)

Bob Van Heur – Le Guess Who? Festival / Belmont Bookings (NL) Eva Trifonas – Ninja Tune (AUS)

Isla Angus – ATC Live (UK)

Ivy Yuen – Magnetic Asia Limited (Hong Kong)

James Clarke – Aeroplane Agency (AUS)

James Moodie – Vevo (UK)

Jane Abernathy – 4AD Records (USA)

Jenn Yacoubian – Goldenvoice (USA)

Lucy Wood – Festival Republic (UK)

Mary Ramos – Saturday Music Inc. (USA)

Mazin Tappuni – Communion Music (UK)

Mel Brown – Impressive PR (UK)

Melissa Woods – Third Side Music (USA)

Mike Ajayi – All My Friends (UK)

Nick Findlay – triple j (AUS)

Paul Adams – New Community Management / Roc Nation (USA) Peter Berard – Domino Recording Co. Ltd. (USA)

Poppy Reid – Seventh Street Media (AUS)

Rebecca Young – Collective Artists (AUS)

Ric Leichtung – Adhoc (USA)

Roy Amar – Bear Parts Music (AUS)

Stuart Meyer – Sub Pop (USA)

Sullivan Patten – Sullivan (AUS)

Sylvie Piccolotto – Rock City (Argentina)

Zan Rowe – triple j (AUS)


Tuesday, 5th September – Friday, 8th September

Fortitude Valley, Brisbane

Tickets: Official Website

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more