The Industry Observer Awards 2018 Nominees Shortlist Announced

The shortlist of nominees for the first-ever The Industry Observer Awards has been announced, and it’s a who’s who of Aussie festivals, radio hosts, lawyers, retailers, executives, label members, publicists and more.

Celebrating the “talent behind the talent”, the awards have nominated the likes of Adam Briggs, Troye Sivan’s parents Shaun & Laurelle Mellet, triple j‘s Ben & Liam and Splendour In The Grass among its various categories, which will each be judged by an elected jury from the music industry, with seven judges per category.

The inaugural The Industry Observer Awards will go down at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday, 27th March. Tickets to the ceremony are available to the public and industry alike, and you can head to Ticketweb for all the details.

Peep the full list of shortlisted nominees, below.

The Industry Observer Awards 2018 Shortlist

Guardian of the Year

Alana Dow [Jai Waetford]

Tara Hart

Shaun & Laurelle Mellet

Anthony Sultana

Ralph Van Dijk

Festival Of The Year

A WEEKEND In The Gardens


Caloundra Music Festival

Groovin the Moo

Hot Dub Wine Machine


Splendour In The Grass

UNIFY Festival

Yours & Owls Festival

Community Radio Host of the Year

Al Grigg

Brooke Olsen (Amrap)

Caitlin Nienaber (RTRFM 92.1)

Chris Berkley (Static 2Ser)

Chris Twite (FBi Radio)

Danny Chifley

Dave ‘Higgo’ Higgins

Jakob Rosenblatt

Julie Reynolds

Simon Winkler & Lauren Taylor (Triple R)

Stephanie Latella

Stephen Walker

Willem Hendriksen

Vickiree Melouney

Radio Host of the Year

Ash London (SCA)

Ben and Liam (triple j)

Byron Cooke (SCA)

Kyle & Jackie O (KIIS)

Mike E & Emma (ARN)

Kent Andrew “Smallzy” (Nova)

Music Lawyer of the Year

Gordon Pitt

Michael Easton

Marcus Fowler

Julian Hewitt

Stephen King

Adrian McGruther

Damian Rinaldi

David Vodicka

Music Retailer of the Year

Apple Music




Marketing Manager/Director of the Year

Ben Martin (Golden Era Records)

Craig Redfearn (BMG Australia)

Mardi Caught

Huw Araniego-ellis (Warner Music)

Kimberley Galceran (Bluesfest)

Nicole Richards (Universal Music)

Petrina Convey (Sony Music)

Rusty Thorpe (Bluesfest)

Wayne Ringrow (Sony Music)

Viktoria Juryga (Universal Music)

Music Retailer of the Year

Beatdisc Records

Crackle and Pop Records

Dada Records

Greville Records

Mojo Record Bar

Poison City Records

Pony Music

Red Eye Records

The Basement Discs

The Record Store

Thornbury Records

Executive of the Year

Brett Cottle (APRA AMCOS)

Dean Ormston (APRA AMCOS)

Denis Handlin (Sony Music)

Heath Johns (BMG Australia)

Jacqui Louez-Schoorl (Jaxsta)

Jadden Comerford (UNIFIED Music Group)

John O Donnell (EMI Music)

Michael Gudinski (Mushroom Group)

Michael Taylor (Universal Music)

Susan Hayman (Chugg Entertainment)

Publisher A&R of the Year

Craig Hawker (Sony/ATV)

Leonie & Robert Conley (Specific Music)

Maree Hamblion (Sony/ATV)

Amy Jarman (BMG Australia)

Erol Yurdagul (Mushroom Group)

Simon Moor (Kolbalt Music)

Boutique Festival of the Year

A Festival Called Panama

Beyond The Valley

Grow Your Own Festival

Lost Paradise

MTV Australia – Beats and Eats

Mullum Music Festival


Sounds Of The Suburbs

Subsonic Music Festival

Sugar Mountain

The Hills Are Alive

The Industry Impact Award

Adam Briggs (AB Original/Briggs/Bad Apples)

Erica Hart (QLD Music Festival)

Maggie Collins (Bigsound)

Michelle Grace-Hunder (Her Story Project)

Michael Chugg (Chugg Entertainment)

Milly Petriella (APRA AMCOS)

Stacey Piggott, Rhett McLaren, Alycia Emmerson & Emma Thornton (Your Choice)

Stephen Walker (3RRR)

Pixie Weyland (FEED MUSIC)

Vicki Gordon (Vicki Gordon Music Productions)

Manager of the Year

Aaron Girgis (Space 44)

Andrew Stone (Chugg Music)

Brent ‘Quincy’ Buchanan (Universal Music)

Clara Iaccarino (MAKEbeLIVE Productions)

Gregg Donovan & Stu MacQueen (Wonderlick)

Jaddan and Rachel Comerford (UNIFIED Music Group)

Kurt Bailey (Mirror Music Group)

Nathan Flack (Flagrant Artists)

Phil Stevens (Jarrah Records)

Regan Lethbridge & David Morgan (Lemon Tree Music)

Niriko McLure (Wonder / 1825 Records)

Publicist of the Year

Amy Simmons (UNIFIED Music Group)

Anna Fitzgerald (TMRW Music)

Bronwyn Tasker (Sony Music)

Chris Maric (Maric Media)

Ella Cochrane (Mushroom Group)

Emily Cheung (On The Map PR)

Genna Alexopoulos (Super Duper)

Natalie Files (The PR Files)

Rachel Jones-Williams (Caroline Australia)

Samantha Anschau (Beehive PR)

Sarah Guppy (This Much Talent)

Stephen Green (SGC Media)

Record Label A&R of the Year

Coco Eke (Bad Apples)

Damian Slevison (Mushroom Group)

Heath Bradbury (Warner Music)

Johann Ponniah (I Oh You)

John Mullen (Dew Process)

Luke Logemann (UNIFIED Music Group)

Mark Holland (EMI Music)

Michael Taylor (Universal Music)

Paul Harris (Sony Music)

Robert Rigby (Sony Music)

Stu MacQueen (Wonderlick)

Booking Agent of the Year

Casey O’Shaughnessy (Select Music)

Joel Siviour (Falcona)

Guven Yilmaz (Vita Artists)

Edwin Tehrani (New World Artists)

Stephen Wade (Select Music)

Jeremy Sharp (Harbour Agency)

Harry Moore (123 Agency)

Evan Davis (Village Sounds)

Katie Rynne (Select Music)

Damian Costin (123 Agency)

Brett Murrihy William Morris Endeavor Entertainment (WME)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more