Image: Facebook

John Frusciante Is Going Acid House On His New ‘Trickfinger’ Album

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante is taking his relationship with electronica to the next level. What started out as a brief fling over a decade ago has now become a fully fledged love affair, professed to the world via his forthcoming “experimental acid house” album which he will release under the moniker Trickfinger.

Frusciante’s first foray into full-on electronica came in 2004 via A Sphere In The Heart Of Silence, an album collaboration with then Chilis guitar tech, now Chilis axeman Josh Klinghoffer, but the prolific eclectic says he first started becoming serious about following his electronic music dream a few years later, around 2007.

“I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could,” he says in a statement posted to his site in 2012. “I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary.”

The audio wizard also notes that his experimentation with acid house has brought about a newfound sense of liberation, by taking the focus away from his rock skills. “I… lost interest in traditional songwriting, and I was excited about finding new methods of creating music,” he says. “I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end.”

Trickfinger has already unveiled the official track listing for the self-titled first LP as well as its debut single, After Below. Trickfinger is set for an April 7th release in the States. An Australian release date has yet to be announced.

The new album is the latest in a long line of musical projects that Frusciante has tackled since departing the Chili Peppers in 2009, including 4 solo LPs, collaborations with numerous artists like Duran Duran and guitarist-producer Omar Rodriguez-Lopez from The Mars Volta, with whom he also formed the supergroup Kimono Kult.

Listen: Trickfinger – After Below

Trickfinger Official Track Listing

1. “After Below”

2. “Before Above”

3. “Rainover”

4. “Sain”

5. “Exlam”

6. “85h”

7. “4:30”

8. “Phurip”

Must Read