Nick Cave
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis | Photo by Daniel Boud

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis Announce ‘Australian Carnage’ Live Album

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis have announced a new live album titled Australian Carnage – Live At The Sydney Opera House. The album was recorded across their three shows at the venue in December last year, the end of the duo’s lengthy tour around the country in support of their album Carnage.

The full 18-track album will be released digitally this Friday, 25th August, with a vinyl release coming on Friday, 1st December. Cave and Ellis have also dropped a cut from the live record, ‘Balcony Man’, which you can listen to below.

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis: ‘Balcony Man’ (Live at the Sydney Opera House)

“Touring Australia with Warren after so much time away was one of the highlights of recent years,” Cave wrote in a statement. “Every show was moving and unforgettable, from the intimacy of playing in theatres and arts centres, to the vast and uplifting nights at Hanging Rock, through to our final three nights at the inimitable Sydney Opera House.

“We are excited to share these recordings, made at the Sydney Opera House, and hope they capture even a tenth of the collective elation we felt at those shows. We’ll never forget them.” 

The live band included Radiohead’s Colin Greenwood and Bad Seeds member Larry Mullins, along with backing vocalists Wendi Rose, Janet Ramus and T Jae Cole.

Cave and Ellis are longtime friends and collaborators, having worked together on numerous TV and film scores and in bands such as Grinderman and The Bad Seeds. Their 2022 tour marked the first time they had ever hit the road together as a duo.

Australian Carnage – Live at the Sydney Opera House

Digital Album

  1. Spinning Song
  2. Bright Horses
  3. Night Raid
  4. Carnage
  5. White Elephant
  6. Ghosteen
  7. Lavender Fields
  8. Waiting For You
  9. I Need You
  10. Cosmic Dancer
  11. Breathless
  12. Hand Of God
  13. Shattered Ground
  14. Galleon Ship
  15. Leviathan
  16. Balcony Man
  17. Hollywood
  18. Ghosteen Speaks

Vinyl Album

Side 1:

  1. Bright Horses
  2. Carnage
  3. White Elephant
  4. Leviathan

Side 2:

  1. Ghosteen
  2. Waiting For You
  3. Breathless
  4. Balcony Man 

Further Reading

Nick Cave Labels AI-Generated Songs “A Grotesque Mockery Of What It Is To Be Human”

Nick Cave Reveals Plans To Make A New Bad Seeds Album In 2023

Nick Cave And Thåström To Serve As Focus Of New Animated Series

Must Read