Tame Impala Will Release Live Album For Record Store Day 2014

More surprises for Tame Impala fans following last week’s unveiling of an awesome Michael Jackson cover that seemingly came out of nowhere. The ARIA award winning Perth rockers have now announced that they will celebrate Record Store Day 2014 with a live LP titled Live Versions.

Accompanying the announcement with a live rendition of Lonerism opener Be Above It, the band’s label, Modular Recordings, will release the album, which was recorded during a 2013 performance in Chicago, as a limited edition vinyl through participating recording stores around the world.

A press release quotes frontman Kevin Parker as saying that he selected the tracks “based on how different the live versions are from the album versions.” Parker’s goal was to give fans “something they won’t already have; something they’ve only previously experienced at a Tame Impala show.”

Last year Parker and his crew supported Record Store Day by releasing a special 12″ vinyl expansion of the band’s self-titled 2008 EP with previously unreleased tracks. Readers can check out the full tracklisting of Live Versions as well as a performance of Be Above It below.

Listen: Tame Impala – Be Above It (Live Versions Performance)

Live Versions Tracklisting

1. Endors Toi

2. Why Won’t You Make Up Your Mind

3. Sestri Levante

4. Mind Mischief

5. Desire Be Desire Go

6. Half Full Glass of Wine

7. Be Above It

8. Feels Like We Only Go Backwards

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more