Tom Jones’ Covers Album Features Tom Waits And Leonard Cohen And More

Tom Jones will release a new album named Spirit in the Room on May 21st. The album will feature covers from legendary artists including Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen, Paul McCartney and Paul Simon.

This will be the 71-year-old Welsh singer’s 40th album, and it promises to revisit the gospel and R&B influences of his younger days. Producer Ethan Johns will add the same raw, visceral sound found on his 2010 release Praise and Blame.

Recently Tom Jones released a Jack White/Thirdman Records collaboration, covering Howlin’ Wolf’s Evil, and a new rendition of Jezebel from his 2002 album.

Spirit in the Room will be released on May 21st.

Tom Jones ‘Spirit in the Room’ Tracklisting

1. Tower Of Song (Leonard Cohen)

2. (I Want To) Come Home (Paul McCartney)

3. Hit Or Miss (Odetta)

4. Love And Blessings (Paul Simon)

5. Soul Of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)

6. Bad As Me (Tom Waits)

7. Dimming Of The Day (Richard Thompson)

8. Travelling Shoes (Vera Hall Ward)

9. All Blues Hail Mary (Joe Henry)

10. Charlie Darwin (The Low Anthem)

Must Read