Custom styles

Image for Watch The Griswolds Cover Vance Joy’s ‘Riptide’ For ‘Like A Version’

Watch The Griswolds Cover Vance Joy’s ‘Riptide’ For ‘Like A Version’

Written by Marc Zanotti on September 26, 2014

Hotter than hot Aussie indie group The Griswolds have covered Vance Joy’s monster single Riptide for the latest installment of triple j’s Like A Version.

The cover is a smooth blend of both acts. Using their numbers to fill out the harmonies, The Griswolds gave Riptide a more drum and synth centred feel while still maintaining the hit song’s easygoing, uplifting energy. It’s pop scooped on top of more pop in an Australian indie flavour overload.

The band have just kicked off their Australia-wide tour and have been announced as one the support act for next year’s The Kooks national tour. The Griswolds’ song 16 Years, the opening track to their new album, Be Impressive, will also feature on electronic soccer game FIFA 15. Good on ya lads.

Also don’t forget that next Friday, 3rd October triple j will be celebrating 10 years of Like A Version, with Matt & Alex playing Like A Version covers all morning! Have a gander at The Griswolds’ cover of Vance Joy’s Riptide below.

Watch: The Griswolds Cover Vance Joy’s Riptide For Like A Version

Watch: The Griswolds – Beware The Dog

The Griswolds Australian Tour Dates

Thursday, 25th September
Corner Hotel, Melbourne VIC
Tickets: Ticketscout

Friday, 26th September
Karova Lounge, Ballarat VIC
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 27th September
Zierholz @ UC, Canberra ACT
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 4th OctoberSOLD OUT
Yours & Owls 4th Birthday, Wollongong NSW
Tickets: Yours & Owls

Thursday, 9th October
Small Ballroom, Newcastle NSW
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 11th October
Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW
Tickets: Ticketek

Friday, 17th October
Jive, Adelaide SA
Tickets: Moshtix

Saturday, 18th October
Amplifier Bar, Perth WA
Tickets: Oztix

Thursday, 23rd October
The Brightside, Brisbane QLD
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 24th October
Solbar, Maroochydore QLD
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 25th October
The Spotted Cow, Toowoomba QLD
Tickets: Free Entry

Sunday, 26th October
Byron Bay Surf Festival, The Beach Hotel, Byron Bay
Tickets: Free Entry

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script

Nielsen