Image for British India Announce Farewell Tour For Departing Guitarist Nic Wilson

British India Announce Farewell Tour For Departing Guitarist Nic Wilson

Written by Tom Williams on September 18, 2018

Aussie rockers British India have announced a 2018 national tour to farewell their founding guitarist Nic Wilson, who will soon retire from music.

Wilson’s final tour with the band — affectionately dubbed the ‘Nic The Poet’ tour — will see the group play 24 shows across Australia between November and January.

In a statement, Wilson has thanked the band’s fans and revealed he has other things he wants to try his hand at.

“British India is something we started as snotty-nosed high school kids, that became something much bigger and more important to people than we could have ever expected. The three lads in the band were the three best men at my wedding and the three best men to play a part in in my life,” he said.

“We decided on everything together as children to adults and proved that democracy can prevail when done right.

“I was lucky to share every terrible Tarago road trip with them laughing hysterically as the road disappeared behind us. I was lucky to share the stage at first playing to nobody and then playing to thousands.

“And I was lucky to live out the dream a 12-year-old version of myself pined for daily. To play music to people who cared. For that – I thank you. But time moves on and I have other things I want to try my hand at and I am ready to see what else I can do.

“Thank you for the memories everybody. Rock n Roll, I gave you the best years of my life.”

British India released their sixth studio album Forgetting The Future in 2017, and are currently working on new material.

Catch all the tour dates and ticket details for the band’s ‘Nic The Poet’ tour, below.

British India 2018 ‘Nic The Poet’ National Tour

Tickets on sale 9am Wednesday, 26th September

Friday, 2nd November
The Basement, Canberra
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 3rd November
SS&A Club, Albury
Tickets: SS&A Club

Thursday, 8th November
North Shore Tavern, Hillarys
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 9th November
Settlers Tavern, Margaret River
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 10th November
Amplifier, Perth
Tickets: Oztix

Sunday, 11th November
Newport Hotel, Fremantle
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 16th November
Stirling Arms Hotel, Guilford
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 17th November
Prince Of Wales, Bunbury
Tickets: Oztix

Sunday, 18th November
Indi Bar, Scarborough
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 23rd November
The Office, Townsville
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 24th November
Tanks Arts Centre, Cairns
Tickets: Tanks Arts Centre

Friday, 30th November
Tap House, Bendigo
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 1st December
Barwon Club, Geelong
Tickets: Oztix

Thursday, 6th December
Highfield Hotel, Caringbah,
Tickets: Moshtix

Friday, 7th December
Tattersall’s Hotel, Penrith
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 8th December
Narrabeen RSL, Narrabeen
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 14th December
The Zoo, Brisbane
Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 21st December
The Corner, Melbourne
Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 12th January
Hastings Foreshore, Hastings (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Saturday, 19th January
Broadwater Entertainment Precinct (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Sunday, 20th January
Sunshine Coast Stadium, Sunshine Coast (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Friday, 25th January
Harts Mill, Port Adelaide (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Saturday, 26th January
Shoalhaven Turf Club, Shoalhaven (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Sunday, 27th January
Westport Park, Port Macquarie (Under The Southern Stars)
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"