Listen: Sigur Ros ‘Ekki Múkk’

Icelandic ambient group, Sigur Ros, have released the first glimpse of their forthcoming album, Valtari. The track, posted online today, is titled ‘Ekki Múkk:’ and sees the band return to the sound most present on the final three tracks on their last album, 2008’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust. The minimal, calming track, is a sound that Sigur Ros are famous for and not one complaint has been raised against the track.

Speaking out about their upcoming album, band bassist Georg Holm posted on the band’s official website “I really can’t remember why we started this record, I no longer know what we were trying to do back then. I do know session after session went pear-shaped, we lost focus and almost gave up … did give up for a while. But then something happened and form started to emerge, and now I can honestly say that it’s the only Sigur Rós record I have listened to for pleasure in my own house after we’ve finished it.”

The band have also announced a string of dates and are heavily tipped to headline a night at this year’s Splendour In The Grass. However, it is looking less likely as the band’s website also states that “sigur rós begin their new tour in August 2012, more dates to be announced soon”, which may exclude Splendour In The Grass as that takes place late July. Fingers crossed that they are a bit lenient with their dates, otherwise they would be more than welcome to appear at this year’s return of Harvest Festival, which went down an absolute treat with punters last year.

Sigur Ros’ album, Valtari, is set to be released on the 25th of May and consists of 8 tracks, spanning 54 minutes. If this first track is anything to go by, we are in for one of their best albums to date.

Sigur Rós – Ekki múkk from Sigur Rós on Vimeo.

1. Ég anda

2. Ekki múkk

3. Varúð

4. Rembihnútur

5. Dauðalogn

6. Varðeldur

7. Valtari

8. Fjögur píanó

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more