Morrissey’s New Album Tracklist Is Very Morrissey-esque

The tracklist for ex-Smiths frontman Morrissey‘s follow-up to 2009’s Years of Refusal has been unveiled and it looks like the literary Morrissey has been told to take five so that the Meat Is Murder singer can get back to what he does best: coming up with absurd and hilarious song titles.

During a January Q&A on fan site True To You, Morrissey not only revealed that his autobiography would be followed up by a foray into fiction — “I am midway through my novel” — but that he was about to begin recording a new album and one of the new tracks would be titled Istanbul.

Once again taking to True To You, the singer has shared the tracklisting for World Peace Is None of Your Business, his tenth solo studio album, which bears quintessentially Morrissey-esque track titles like Kick the Bride Down the Aisle, Smiler With Knife, and of course, Neal Cassady Drops Dead.

Currently set for a July release, this 12-song set was produced by Beck and White Stripes collaborator Joe Chiccarelli in France. The album comes despite Morissey’s sentiments that he now reaps more satisfaction from his literary ventures than music, citing a lack of passion in pop music.

“The actuality is that radio stations will not play my music, and the majority of people have lost faith in the music industry, and it’s generally assumed — quite rightly — that the number one chart positions are ‘bought’ by the major labels, so there really is no passion left in pop or rock music.”

Morrissey – World Peace Is None of Your Business Tracklist

1. World Peace is None of Your Business

2. Neal Cassady Drops Dead

3. Istanbul

4. I’m Not a Man

5. Earth Is the Loneliest Planet

6. Staircase at the University

7. The Bullfighter Dies

8. Kiss Me a Lot

9. Smiler With Knife

10. Kick the Bride Down the Aisle

11. Mountjoy

12. Oboe Concerto

Watch: Morrissey – There Is A Light That Never Goes Out Live in Manchester

Must Read