Red Hot Chili Peppers
Red Hot Chili Peppers | Image: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images For SiriusXM

Red Hot Chili Peppers Pay Tribute To Eddie Van Halen On New Single, ‘Eddie’

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have honoured one of their heroes on their latest track, with Eddie Van Halen serving as the inspiration for ‘Eddie’. The new track will appear on the band’s second album of 2022, Return Of The Dream Canteen, which is due next month.

Melodically reminiscent of material from the group’s 2002 album, By The Way, a statement from vocalist Anthony Kiedis noted that the track began to take shape immediately following the passing of Van Halen in October 2020. “Sometimes we don’t realize how deeply affected and connected we are to artists until the day they die,” Kiedis said.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – ‘Eddie’

“Eddie Van Halen was a one of a kind,” he continued. “The day after his death Flea came into rehearsal with an emotional bassline. John, Chad and I started playing along and pretty soon with all our hearts, a song in his honor effortlessly unfolded.”

Kiedis went to say that Van Halen was an inspirational figure for the band’s four members. “Although the song doesn’t speak to Eddie by name, it talks about his early days on the Sunset Strip and the rock n roll tapestry that Van Halen painted on our minds. In the end, our song asks that you not remember Eddie for dying but for living his wildest dream.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers announced the release of Return Of The Dream Canteen in July, a few months after the release of Unlimited Love, their first new album with guitarist John Frusciante in 16 years. The group will return to Australian shores in early 2023 for a headline tour, accompanied by Post Malone.

Return Of The Dream Canteen is set for release on 14th October.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Return Of The Dream Canteen

  1. Tippa My Tongue
  2. Peace And Love
  3. Reach Out
  4. Eddie
  5. Fake As Fu@k
  6. Bella
  7. Roulette
  8. My Cigarette
  9. Afterlife
  10. Shoot Me A Smile
  11. Handful
  12. The Drummer
  13. Bag Of Grins
  14. La La La La La La La La
  15. Copperbelly
  16. Carry Me Home
  17. In The Snow

Red Hot Chili Peppers 2023 Australian Tour

With Post Malone

  • Sunday, 29th January, 2023 – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, QLD
  • Thursday, 2nd February, 2023 – Accor Stadium, Sydney, NSW
  • Tuesday, 7th February, 2023 – Marvel Stadium, Melbourne, VIC
  • Sunday, 12th February, 2023 – Optus Stadium, Perth, WA

Tickets on sale now.

Further Reading

Watch Red Hot Chili Peppers Perform Simultaneously On Jimmy Kimmel & Jimmy Fallon

Chad Smith, Matt Cameron Regret Participating In “Misleading” Taylor Hawkins Article

You Can Now Play A Video Game Of Red Hot Chilli Peppers’ ‘Californication’

Must Read