Reliqa | Image via Supplied

Reliqa Announce Debut Album ‘Secrets Of The Future’

Australian progressive metal band Reliqa has laid the groundwork for their debut album Secrets of the Future, which is set to be released on Friday, May 31. The band has unveiled a sneak peek of their dystopian-themed album releases and a single and music video for “Killstar: The Cold World”. The album promises to be an electrifying mix of progressive metal that explores themes of dystopia and futurism.

The band is known for their innovative approach to metal music, Reliqa aims to captivate listeners with a unique soundscape and thought-provoking lyrics.

Reliqa – ‘Killstar (The Cold World)’

The band’s latest single “Killstar: The Cold World” is a chilling introduction to the album’s thematic depth. With haunting melodies and powerful instrumentals, the song takes listeners to a dark future where technology rules and humanity is on the brink of extinction.

The single is accompanied by a visually stunning music video that deepens the dystopian narrative of the album. Directed by acclaimed filmmaker James Ross, the video offers a look at a world ravaged by social decline and technological tyranny and is a stark warning against the dangers of unchecked progress.

Reliqa expressed their excitement to share their vision in a statement about the album. “Aesthetic-wise, Secrets of the Future has some soft sci-fi elements to it, especially through the artwork and some of the soundscapes throughout,” shares the band of their forthcoming debut album. “We say ‘soft’ because it’s not a fictional concept album, but with the album title focusing so much on the future, the vibes are inherently dark, ominous, foreboding, a little bit dystopian at times.”

Reliqa concludes their statement by saying, “Our songwriting style shifted in 2023 when we started writing this album,” adds the band, “and that change in workflow is another reason why some of the songs on this record are so different to anything we’ve done before, like Cave, Terminal, Crossfire and Two Steps Apart.”

Secrets of the Future Tracklist:

01. Dying Light

02. Carve

03. Killstar (The Cold World)

04. The Flower

05. Sariah

06. Terminal

07. Keep Yourself Awake

08. Crossfire

09. Physical

10. Two Steps Apart

11. A Spark

12. Upside Down

You can pre-order the album here.

Further Reading

UK Singer-Songwriter Sam Heselwood Shares Heartbreaking New Piano Ballad ‘I Remember’

Cosmo’s Midnight Release New Single ‘Chance On You’ Featuring KUČKA

Hiatus Kaiyote Announce New Album ‘Love Heart Cheat Code’, Share Single + Tour Dates

Must Read