Stream Iggy Pop and Josh Homme’s Collab Album ‘Post Pop Depression’

It’s hard to think of a better pairing in music that Iggy Pop and Josh Homme, and the fact they’re about to release a collaborative album together is possibly the most exciting news of the year so far. Almost as exciting that is as the news that the album is now available for streaming.

Titled Post Pop Depression, and set to be released by Caroline Australia on March 18th; the album was recorded in “utmost secrecy” to ensure “full independence” and was personally funded by Pop and Homme.

Dean Fertita (QOTSA, The Dead Weather) and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders round out the rest of the band, who will be embarking on a short North American tour to support the album’s release later this month.

Homme has described the record as a spiritual sequel to Pop’s 1977 collaboration with David Bowie Lust For Life. Speaking to the New York Times, he said of the album’s relation to Pop’s work with Bowie that: “Where those records pointed, it stopped.”

He didn’t leave it there though, explaining he payed “Homme-age” to Pop’s albums made with Bowie “but without copying it,” he insisted. “That direction actually goes for miles. And when you keep going for miles, you can’t see these two records any more.”

You can wrap your ear-holes around the record below, and also check out this fan filmed video of the band giving fans a taste of the live show in LA recently.

Post Pop Depression

01. Break Into Your Heart

02. Gardenia

03. American Valhalla

04. In the Lobby

05. Sunday

06. Vulture

07. German Days

08. Chocolate Drops

09. Paraguay

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more