News

The Funkoars Announce ‘Below Average’ National Tour

Adelaide hip-hoppers The Funkoars are raising the bar on touring, just high enough to limbo funkily underneath it, with the announcement of their Below Average national headlining tour, kicking off this May.

The ironically above average 11-date marathon gets its name from the band’s brand new single. The tune Below Average represents fans’ first taste of the trio’s forthcoming fifth full-length effort (try saying that ten times fast) In Case of Emergency, which promises to be a hoppin’ slab of hard 80’s street justice.

The Funkoars will be road-testing new material off the forthcomer on stages across the country during their impending tour, alongside a selection of older classics. And there’s also a bunch of killer support acts to seal the deal.

“TOOOOO stoked to tell you guys we’re coming back to your hood AND bringing SQUAD,” the ‘Oars posted on Facebook. “Joining us on the turntables is the international X-Man DJ Total Eclipse and the super homies Mathas & Eloji on support.”

The disc’s teaser single and tour war-cry, Below Average, is described by the group as “an above average song” that sees the ‘Oars “remind themselves and the listener that it’s not only ok to be a failure at everything you attempt, but it’s encouraged.”

It’ll be available to purchase from Thursday, 26th March, but fans can stream the new tune now via Soundcloud, below.

Tickets to The Funkoars’ Below Average Tour go on sale from midday on Tuesday, 24th March. Check out the dates, below.

Listen: The Funkoars – Below Average

https://soundcloud.com/thefunkoars/below-average

Below Average Tour Dates

Friday 8th May, 2015

The TBC Club, Fortitude Valley

Tickets: The Funkoars

Saturday, 9th May 2015

Coolangatta Hotel, Coolangatta

Tickets: The Funkoars

Wednesday, 13th May 2015

Transit Bar, Canberra

Tickets: The Funkoars

Thursday, 14th May 2015

Workers Club, Melbourne

Tickets: The Funkoars

Friday, 15th May 2015

Workers Club, Melbourne

Tickets: The Funkoars

Saturday, 16th May 2015

Republic Bar, Hobart

Tickets: The Funkoars

Friday, 22nd May 2015

Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle

Tickets: The Funkoars

Saturday, 23rd May 2015

Basement, Sydney

Tickets: The Funkoars

Friday, 29th May 2015

Prince Of Wales, Bunbury

Tickets: The Funkoars

Saturday, 30th May 2015

Amplifier Bar, Perth

Tickets: The Funkoars

Friday, 12th June 2015

The Gov, Adelaide (All Ages)

Tickets: The Funkoars

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more