Image for The Lucky Wonders Announce Debut Album, National Tour

The Lucky Wonders Announce Debut Album, National Tour

Written by John Ritchie on April 5, 2010

Byron Bay’s The Lucky Wonders are set to release their debut album Thirteen O’Clock, and to celebrate are preparing to head out on a mammoth tour across the country.

Originally a two-piece, the band now consists of singer songwriter duo Jessie Vintila and Emma Royle, as well as Brent Calcutt on bass and Anastassijah Scales on drums.

Recorded in their hometown of Byron with Anthony Lycenko (Xavier Rudd, The Beautiful Girls, Pete Murray), Thirteen O’Clock is a collection of roots tunes that draw on a delicately pop underbelly. Most of the album was recorded in the early hours of the morning at Studios 301. During the day the band had to nail blankets over the windows and doors “to adapt to the vampire lifestyle”.

The band says that the album has a theme of connection: with yourself, a lover, the world. Also the connection between hard times and the journey towards happiness.

Explains Emma: “This album covers a lot of ground, the individual tracks read like chapters in a bigger story, and in the end you’re left with something real but optimistic. Despite our contrasting life experiences we create something special when we write together. It’s like, yeah, life can hurt sometimes, but if you stay open, there is a chance at something bigger and fuller.”

The Lucky Wonders are packing their WonderBus and hitting the road soon, playing 40+ shows in damn near every corner of the country.

“The ‘Thirteen O’Clock’ Album Launch Tour”

Thursday 1st April
Pacific Hotel, Yamba NSW

Wednesday 7th April
Lizottes, Newcastle NSW

Thursday 8th April
The Vanguard, Sydney NSW

Friday 9th April
Heritage Hotel, Bulli NSW

Saturday 10th April
Hotel Gearins, Katoomba NSW

Wednesday 14th April
The Oxford Tavern, Wollongong NSW

Friday 16th April
Club Sapphire, Merimbula NSW

Saturday 17th April
Milton Theatre, Milton NSW

Sunday 18th April
Front Bar, Canberra ACT

Monday 19th April
The Phoenix, Canberra ACT

Friday 23rd April
The Wesley Anne, Melbourne VIC

Sunday 25th April
Bendigo Hotel, Melbourne VIC

Thursday 29th April
The Republic Bar, Hobart TAS

Friday 30th April
The Royal Oak, Launceston TAS

Saturday 1st May
Stage Door, Bernie TAS

Saturday 8th May
The Gov Front Bar, Adelaide SA

Friday 14th May
UWA, Perth WA

Sunday 16th May
Mojos, Fremantle WA

Thursday 20th May
Quindanning Inn, Quindanning WA

Friday 21st May
Dunsborough Tavern, Dunsborough WA

Saturday 22nd May
Settlers Tavern, Margaret River WA

Sunday 23rd May
Denmark Tavern, Denmark WA

Friday 28th May
Camel Bar, Geraldton WA

Saturday 29th May
Clancy’s, Fremantle WA

Sunday 30th May
The Paddo, Perth WA

Friday 4th June
Gascoyne Hotel, Carnarvon WA

Saturday 5th June
Monkey Bar, Monkey Mia WA

Thursday 10th June
Coral Bay Hotel, Coral Bay WA

Friday 11th June
Whalers Bar, Exmouth WA

Wednesday 16th June
Divers Tavern, Broome WA

Friday 18th June
Divers Tavern, Broome WA

Saturday 19th June
Divers Tavern, Broome WA

Sunday 20th June
Matsos Brewery, Broome WA

Wednesday 23rd June
Station Township, Kununurra WA

Friday 25th June
Ski Club, Darwin NT

Saturday 26th June
The Happy Yess, Darwin NT

Sunday 27th June
Mindil Markets, Darwin NT

Friday 2nd July
Firkin and Hound, Alice Springs NT

Saturday 3rd July
Outback Pioneer, Ayers Rock Resort, NT

Sunday 4th July
Residents Club, Ayers Rock Resort, NT

Full ticket details to follow. Thirteen O’clock is in stores Monday March 8th through Vitamin.

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"