News

Thirsty Merc Are ‘Shifting Gears’ With A New Album & National Tour

Thirsty Merc are getting ready to gun it across Australia for a veritable Grand Prix of tour dates, in celebration of their brand new album, Shifting Gears.

The trio will perform a monster 39 shows across the nation throughout September, October and November under the banner of The Good Life Tour, traversing all states and territories in support of the new disc, which marks the Merc’s first independent full-length release.

“We’ve haven’t really stopped since 2002, and being around for over a decade, we’ve got lots more experience than when we started,” explains vocalist, songwriter and co-founder, Rai Thistlethwayte. “We’ve also got still got loads of energy, and we want to harness that energy to work hard, around the clock, to continue touring and making good music.”

The album was partially bankrolled through the crowdfunding platform PledgeMusic, with the band triumphantly reaching their financial goal within 48 hours of the campaign kicking off.

With production by longtime collaborator, Lindsay Gravina (The Living End, Kate Miller Heidke, Roland S Howard) now complete, Thirsty Merc have booked Grammy nominated Emily Lazar (Foo Fighters, David Bowie, Sia, The Killers) to master their new record in New York, ahead of its release on Friday, September 4th.

Tickets for all shows on The Good Life Tour go on sale from 9am local time on Monday, 27th July. Check out all venue and ticketing details below.

Gallery: Thirsty Merc & Martha Marlow @ Coogee Diggers, Sydney 2014 / Photos By Peter Coates

Watch: Thirsty Merc – In The Summertime

Monday, 14th September 2015

Caravan Club, Oakleigh, VIC

Tickets: Caravan Music

Wednesday, 16th September 2015

Memo Music Hall, St Kilda, VIC

Tickets: Memo Music Hall

Thursday, 17th September 2015

Plaza Tavern, Hoppers Crossing, VIC

Ticket: Moshtix

Friday, 18th September 2015

Ticket: Moshtix

Saturday, 19th September 2015

Village Green Hotel, Mulgrave, VIC

Ticket: Moshtix

Sunday, 20th September 2015

Karova Lounge, Ballarat, VIC

Tickets: Oztix

Tuesday, 22nd September 2015

The Loft, Warrnambool, VIC

Tickets: Oztix

Wednesday, 23rd September 2015

Barwon Club, Geelong, VIC

Tickets: Oztix

Thursday, 24th September 2015

Ramsgate Hotel, Henley Beach, SA

Ticket: Moshtix

Friday, 25th September 2015

Norwood Live, Norwood, SA

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 26th September 2015

Revesby Workers Club, Revesby, NSW

Tickets: Revesby Workers Club

Thursday, 1st October 2015

Rooty Hill RSL, Rooty Hill, NSW

Tickets: Rooty Hill RSL

Friday, 2nd October 2015

Astor Hotel, Goulburn, NSW

Tickets: Astor Hotel

Saturday, 3rd October 2015

The Oaks Hotel, Albion Park, NSW

Tickets: The Oaks

Wednesday, 7th October 2015

ANU Bar, Canberra, ACT

Tickets: Ticketek

Thursday, 8th October 2015

Mona Vale Hotel, Mona Vale, NSW

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 9th October 2015

Halekulani Bowling Club, Central Coast, NSW

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 10th October 2015

Baroque Room, Katoomba, NSW

Tickets: Oztix

Sunday, 11th October 2015

Club Forster, Forster-Tuncurry, NSW

Tickets: Offbeat

Wednesday, 14th October 2015

The Basement, Sydney, NSW

Ticket: Moshtix

Thursday, 15th October 2015

Panthers, Port Macquarie, NSW

Tickets: Offbeat

Friday, 16th October 2015

Armidale Services Club, Armidale, NSW

Tickets: Offbeat

Saturday, 17th October 2015

Grafton District Services Club, Grafton, NSW

Tickets: Offbeat

Sunday, 18th October 2015

Hoey Moey Beergarden, Coffs Harbour, NSW

Tickets: Free Entry

Wednesday, 21st October 2015

Spotted Cow, Toowoomba, QLD

Tickets: Oztix

Thursday, 22nd October 2015

Coolangatta Hotel, Gold Coast, QLD

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 23rd October 2015

The Zoo, Brisbane, QLD

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 24th October 2015

Villa Noosa, Noosa, QLD

Tickets: Villa Noosa

Wednesday, 28th October 2015

Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC

Tickets: Northcote Social Club

Sunday, 1st November 2015

King George Gardens – Wangaratta Jazz Festival, Wangaratta, VIC

Tickets: Wangaratta Jazz

Saturday, 7th November 2015

Belmont 16’s, Newcastle, NSW

Tickets: 16’s

Sunday, 8th November 2015

Heathcote Hotel, Heathcote, NSW

Tickets: Heathcote Hotel

Thursday, 12th November 2015

Friends Restaurant, Perth, WA

Tickets: Friend Restaurant

Friday, 13th November 2015

Wintersun Hotel, Geraldton, WA

Ticket: Moshtix

Saturday, 14th November 2015

Charles Hotel, Perth, WA

Tickets: Ticketmaster and Charles Hotel

Sunday, 15the November 2015

Ravenswood Hotel, Perth, WA

Tickets: Ticketmaster

Friday, 20th November 2015

SSA Club, Albury, NSW

Tickets: Free Entry

Saturday, 21st November 2015

Mulwala Ski Club, Mulwala, NSW

Tickets: Free Entry

Saturday, 28th November 2015

Palmerston Tavern, Darwin, NT

Ticket: Moshtix

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more